#asiangoddessofbrunch tries “République”

Drove out to Los Angeles today to eat brunch with my main lady, Adriana. For those of you who don’t know, Adriana has been one of my closest friends since freshman year of college. We bond over our mutual love of french toast and a side of potatoes, waiting 2 hours for brunch, basically all things brunch, binge watching shows on Netflix and shopping. We are terrible together because we just enable each other and spend too much money. She laughs at all of my jokes and lets me rant for as long as I want. She is one of my best friends and I love her very, very dearly. She is a beautiful, wonderful Guatemalan princess who is caring and funny and somehow manages to put up with me.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
I apologize for the lighting (because I only know how to use my camera on Auto, oops) but how precious is this little lady?! Girl is a 10/10, just like that mug says.

So today, we were going to eat at Joan’s on Third but due to some parking difficulties (if anyone knows how to read the parking signs in LA, please send a comment my way because I truly never know where I can/can’t park…who knew there could be more difficult parking than San Francisco’s?), we ended up at République, on La Brea. We found a parking spot at a meter right away, which was convenient because I always seem to freak out when it comes to parking.

République looks like a Los Angeles hipster’s paradise and I do mean that in the best way possible. The restaurant is a order at the cashier & seat yourself type of deal and even though it was 1 pm on a Wednesday, the place was pretty crowded (do people in this city even work?!?!…I ask this in every city where there’s more than like 5 people in the restaurant on a weekday). We managed to snag a small table next to two elderly Asian women who 1) asked me what drink I ordered (matcha green latte) and 2) asked me what nationality I am (Chinese/Vietnamese) and 3) proceeded to tell me I’m pretty. My life is complete. Thank you, elderly Asian women gossiping over coffee.

I ordered the Ricotta toast and a Banana Nutella something (great blogging, Jeannie!) and a matcha green tea latte. Adriana had the Regular Breakfast because she’s boring (jk) and fresh-squeezed orange juice after complaining about how much she wanted a burger. I can see why République has 4 out of 5 stars on Yelp. All of the food tasted so fresh and my green tea latte was the perfect amount of sweet (and y’all know how much I love sweet). I was not expecting the Ricotta toast to come out that large because I’m used to paying like $9 for a small piece of bread in San Francisco so this was a very pleasant surprise.

2017-01-11 03.27.26 1.jpg

If any of you have had Millionaire’s bacon, Adriana’s 2 inch thick bacon reminded me of that, minus the sweet and chili taste. Boy, I miss Millionaire’s bacon. Boy, I miss San Francisco. Also, she got a whole baby baguette, which she was really excited about. Anyway, this place was so, SO good and 10/10 will be back to try their lunch and dinner menu. Such a cute spot in Los Angeles!

Location: République, 624 S La Brea Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036

Leave a Reply

