Disney College Program: ONE MONTH IN!

Wow, wow, wow. It’s been a hot minute since I’ve written on this blog. I know my mom has been wanting to read one of these so hi mom! I’m alive, I’m well and I’m writing. So it turns out blogging is just as grueling as journaling is and I’m terrible at both. So it’s been about a month since I started the Disney College Program at the Disneyland Resort and I don’t even know how to describe everything that has happened.

SO! From the beginning, I knew I was going to be working a Front Desk role, which was my top choice because I went to school for Hospitality, etc. You know the story. We had check-in on January 15 and a handful of us who got accepted for Front Desk & Guest Services had something called Global Training like the next week. So we ended up just sitting around for a week, waiting to start.

Global Training lasted for 4 days straight, 7am-4pm and it was just as terrible waking up for that as you think it would be. Just kidding, it wasn’t too bad. But we did sit in a classroom learning the entire system we use for check-ins and learn the check-in and check-out process, etc. Luckily, I had Katy (roommate who eats mayonnaise) and Sam (snickerdoodle) so we managed and had a great time.

IMG_3201.JPG
Here’s a photo of them for reference. Do you see what I mean? Snickerdoodle.

After Global, I went straight into 10 days of On the Job Training at the Disneyland Hotel. I was paired up with a girl (I say girl, but she’s kind of a woman, but acts like me so I’m going to stick with girl) named Kim who became my best friend within the first 2 hours of our training. 9 days of training and then an assessment on the 10th day, which I passed (yay!). Kim is amazing and sarcastic and funny and a day working without Kim is a wasted day. HA!

Anyway, work has been really great. I love my location and I love all the people there. Now if Katy could just transfer on over to the Disneyland Hotel, life would be perfect. It’s been a really fun month learning everything I have at Disney and meeting all the wonderful guests who stay at the hotel. Adulthood is great because you work all the time and pay your own bills and you’re broke and life is great! Half kidding. It’s been really fun though.

In terms of the program itself, I’ve met some really fun people. The Programs Office people are all amazing so it’s fun talking to them and they put on some really fun events. So far, we’ve ridden Space Mountain with the lights on and did a Backstage Tour of Soarin’. Next week, I’m doing a Backstage Tour of Radiator Springs, so I’m really looking forward to that! We’ve also had a College Program & Professional Intern mixer, where I got to meet some really cool people and network a bit.

10/10 would recommend this program to anyone trying to get their foot in the door with Disney and 10/10 would recommend living in Housing because it feels like I never left college. I do sleep top bunk, after all. Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for ya. Tune back in a month and I’ll update you with any mildly interesting things about my life.

Leave a Reply

