“It’s your job to be yourself.”

“It’s not your job to be likable. It’s your job to be yourself. The right people will like you anyway.”

One of my favorite bloggers recently tweeted this and it really resonated with me. The blogger’s name is Jeanne and you can read more about her here. She’s like an actual blogger though, so vastly different than this very scatterbrained online journal I keep. I’ve met her in person and she’s an absolute gem of a human being, who deserves the amazing recognition she gets on social media. I’m not sure if this is an original quote or whatnot, but I really liked it. So thank you, Jeanne, for sparking this thought in me.

Her tweet came at a good time for me. I think your early twenties are weird. It’s not like they make it out to be in the movies….or maybe it is and I’m just doing it wrong. I have always said I’m essentially a 45 year old woman in a 22 year old’s body….so maybe that’s it. But anyway, personally, my early twenties have been very interesting thus far. It’s strange navigating through life and trying to get my career and all of my relationships in order. I think it’s super easy to lose yourself in the process but I am happy to say that I don’t think I have lost myself and I have amazing family/friends to thank for that. I feel strangely sappy tonight so I will do what I always do and just write it out until I understand it myself.

This program has barely two months left (?!?!) and has taught me more about myself than I ever thought it would and more importantly, it taught me about the type of people I attract. It has taught me about how I want to live my life, what I expect of myself, and what I expect of my relationships with those around me. I am only picky with one aspect of my life and it’s with who I choose to spend my time with. Time is the best gift you can give/receive, and I try to be picky with mine. I often wonder if I made the right decision doing this internship post-graduation and I know for a fact that no matter what happens, this will not be a decision I regret. The people I’ve met, the relationships I’ve developed and the magical experiences I have created…….irreplaceable. The program is set to end August 5 but I am hoping to continue my journey and career here beyond that.

2017-05-31 07.31.55 1.jpg
The worst. 

I am a strong believer that everything happens for a reason. I have met some people through this program and through my work location that have made a very large impact on my life in a very short period of time. It’s only been five months and I have met people that I feel like I’ve known my entire life. Too blessed to be stressed, am I right?! Sounds like some cheesy tattoo I should get tattooed on my foot or something but anyway.

I feel like the luckiest girl in the world and sometimes it’s hard but I need to remind myself that amazing things don’t need to be happening 1000% of the time for me to feel like the luckiest girl in the world. Things are going very well, in all aspects of life right now and I am so grateful for that. I have met friends here who (going back to that first tweet I mentioned) have accepted me for who I truly am and have embraced me and supported me through everything. I like to think I know myself pretty well and I am an open book. If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t be writing all of this on the internet for the world (or just my mom)….but I am pretty proud of who I have become and who I am becoming.

I am a handful but I’m lucky to have loving, caring and supportive friends & family. I know myself and I know I can be hardheaded, stubborn, blunt, independent and straightforward (pretty sure I got all of these qualities from my dad so thanks for that….hi dad!), but on the other end of that, I know I can be very caring and loving and I am fiercely loyal and protective to those who have proven to be loyal to me. I don’t like things sugarcoated, I like people who tell it like it is and I do the same because life is short and I don’t like wasting time. I love my friends and family more than I love myself and I would do anything for them.

I am thankful for the friends I have met through this program that are there for me when I need them and know when to leave me alone to figure things out on my own. I am so thankful for those that I have chosen to open up to and those that have embraced me for who I truly am and have still unconditionally loved me for it. I owe them everything. It goes without saying that my family has supported and embraced me for who I am (do they really have a choice….) and I am thankful and love them so much for that because where would I be without them? Beyond that, to the best friends I have made through this short time at Disney, who haven’t known me for very long and who owe me absolutely nothing….I am endlessly thankful for what y’all do for me on a daily basis.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Dole WHIP….

You don’t owe anyone anything. I keep this in mind when I’m having a rough day and Katy brings me flowers and ice cream. I keep this in mind when I drive an hour home on a random Tuesday night for 2 hours because I don’t get weekends off and my parents stay up to cook me dinner at like 10 pm. I keep this in mind when guests yell at me and my boyfriend buys me an entire pizza and flowers to salvage the day. I keep this in mind when my friends take the time to listen to me vent about some first world problems. I keep this in mind when friends take time out of their day to spend time with me. I keep this in mind when my friends pick up the phone to talk to me when they could be doing other things (who talks on the phone in 2017?!). I keep this in mind when friends bring me food at work (notice how a lot of these have to do with food……). I keep this in mind when those who love me and those I love go out of their way to make sure I am taken care of. Literally, none of these people owe me a thing. How could a girl not feel so lucky and loved and blessed with so much love and friendship surrounding her?! I’d be stupid not to be thankful.

2017-06-02 08.03.09 2.jpg
“Welcome to the frickin’ Guardians of the Galaxy!” – Baby Groot via Rocket

 

So going back to the main point of this post since this is starting to get a little repetitive, I am thankful for those around me who have embraced me for me. I am thankful I have not had to compromise who I am and am still able to stay true to my values, all while having a handful of friends (and family!! HI MOM!!!) that will support me through anything.

I will continue to be the loud and bold and stubborn and loving and caring and loyal girl that people know me to be and I will continue to love my life and love my friends. I think what that quote says is true. I think it is absolutely your job to be yourself (it’s pretty hard to be anything else………trust me, high school Jeannie could attest to that) and I think regardless, if the right people are meant to be in your life…then they will be. It’s that easy.

Til’ next time, lil’ blog.

2017-06-01 05.13.15 2.jpg

Leave a Reply

