A perfect little 3 years.

2017-06-01 10.14.39 1.jpg

It’s been three perfect little years with my best friend and boyfriend and I could not be happier. For those of you who don’t know, Andrew and I met when I was a wee baby, at the age of….thirteen? Fourteen? I don’t know. It was an awful time of Abercrombie & Fitch and trying too hard to fit in. Middle school was the worst. Anyway, we met in middle school and we “dated” for two months….as much as any middle schoolers could “date.” My dad said no dating til’ I finished college, so naturally, I went out and got a boyfriend at 13. Sorry, dad!

We broke up because….we were children and I’m dumb. Dated other people, whatever. The usual. Learned about what I wanted from relationships and what I expected of a boyfriend. We went to the same middle school + high school and were in the same friend group senior year of high school, so we were friends throughout but it wasn’t until freshman year of college when we started dating again. And thank God for that.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Like that couple in a lifestyle magazine that no one reads.

Andrew is a very special person. It takes a special person to put up with me, I think. I have a whole lot of love to offer, but this man exceeds even that. He is patient beyond anything I am able to comprehend, he is kind and loving, and he is reasonable. He is calm and collected, he thinks twice before he speaks and he is understanding. He takes care of me when I’m down and knows exactly how I operate. He knows exactly how to cheer me up and knows me better than I know myself. He is everything I aspire to be in life and more. He makes me a better person.

Beyond being probably the world’s nicest man, he is so funny and so intelligent. We have the same taste in movies and television shows, we have the same sense of humor and I would say we have the same taste in music except I have recently developed a lowkey love towards country pop, so I’ve strayed away from him in music preferences. But anyway, the man is smart….and that’s pretty attractive. He’s studying to be a chemical engineer which regularly blows my mind because I’ve sat in on those classes and they are not fun. Andrew is the opposite of me in many ways but is the perfect balance I need in life. He is carefree, easygoing and patient. I am……..working on being all of those things. 🙂

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Ugh. The best.

We’ve been an old married couple since Day 1, if not even before that, of dating. I, unlike many 20 something year olds, it appears, despite dating. I hate dating. It is exhausting and I can’t do it. Tinder scares me. By the time Andrew and I got together, I knew exactly what I wanted and needed in a man and I let him know that upfront…like everything else in my life. (Note: I would not recommend this approach to anyone you haven’t known for 10+ years because “Hey, if we’re not getting married, don’t waste my time” doesn’t seem like it would work on a first date in normal situations.)

Anyway, I knew what I wanted/needed. I needed a man who would support me but would leave me alone to go about my business because my father raised a pretty independent lil’ girl and I like to do things on my own. I needed a man who could calm me down when I freak out because I tend to worry too much. I needed someone who would be honest and loyal. I needed someone who would never control me or tell me what to do. I needed someone who would trust me. I needed someone who shared the same values as me and placed importance on family and a career. And if I man couldn’t be all those things for me, then I would rather be alone.

BUT THANKFULLY, I lucked out and hit the jackpot because Andrew fulfills all of this and more. He’s not perfect though and I’m really not perfect but life is infinitely better with him in it. He makes me fall in love with my own life on a regular basis and for that, I am thankful. Find someone who takes an ordinary life and helps you see the extraordinary in it.

2017-06-02 08.08.49 1.jpg
People either thought we were celebrating 3 years or that I was turning 3. Who knows. We got some looks.

Relationships are no walk in the park (like these pictures! HA!). The first 2 years of our relationship were long distance with me going to school in San Francisco and him going to school in Irvine. This relationship was work at the beginning but it was worth it. I’m not going to pretend like our relationship is perfect though most of the time, it is. We still bicker like an old married couple….and I would say 94% of the time, it’s because I am hangry or because of me snapping at something. Somehow he manages to stay calm and waits it out and then I’m fine in like 15 minutes. It’s not perfect all the time but it’s pretty damn close.

This relationship is precious to me and I hold it very close to my heart. He is absolutely a priority for me and I treat him like family, because he is. My family adores him (or they do a very good job of pretending) and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for us.

2017-06-02 08.14.10 1.jpg
My love.

P.S. On a much lighter, less sappy (apparently, I’m just a big ball of cheese nowadays) note, isn’t it amazing what you can do with a tripod and a clicker (THANK YOU, AMAZON!!)? Every year, we hire a photographer to take our pictures but it was a complete different experience taking these photos on our own. Uh….would not recommend using balloons on a windy day like I sadly attempted to….because it was quite a struggle. Also would recommend you check the weather before taking photos. That probably would have solved the whole balloon thing but. Whatever. It’s not like I went to school to learn how to plan events or anything (I did).

2017-06-02 07.58.10 1.jpg
Pretty much sums up our relationship.
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
We were standing in duck poop the entire time. Duck poop. Everywhere.
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
That foot pop. Important.
Leave a Reply

