Mission: BREAKOUT! and DCP: LA Day!

June 4, 2016: Guardians of the Galaxy Mission: BREAKOUT! Project Team Preview

DPIV-6484.jpg
Imagineer Preview of Mission: BREAKOUT! on June 4, 2017

So it’s been a pretty fun week so far! And thank God for that because today is Day 1 of 7 straight days of working in a row so….I have that to look forward to. But anyway, on Sunday, June 4, I got to see my family early in the morning for the first time in a few weeks and we went to Disney California Adventure for a cast preview for the Imagineers who worked on the new Guardians of the Galaxy Mission: BREAKOUT! ride. The best part was probably getting to wear a cool Guardians of the Galaxy badge (AND THE FREE FOOD!!). We got there around 7 am and waited in the queue, but my parents didn’t ride because they were too scared (probably).

We got to take photos with Groot and Gamora, which was pretty cool and I showed Groot the baby version of him on my shirt, to which he responded “I am Groot.” Gamora translated it as “He says he really likes your shirt.” Gamora was like 8 feet tall which wasn’t terrifying at all. But she was wonderful and I relate to her on a spiritual level.  I also relate to Rocket and Baby Groot on a spiritual level as well….so….

DPIV-6479.jpg
Groot & Gamora are perfect.
2017-06-04 07.35.56 1.jpg
Missed you, Jon! 

So Jacquelyn and I rode it 3x that morning with 0 minute wait time (#BLESSED) because our badges got us through the fast pass line until ~10 am. The first scenario we got was “Born to Be Wild,” then “I Want You Back,” followed by “We Got the Funk.” I think “I Want You Back” is my favorite. It’s such a well done ride and there’s so much detail in the queue, as well as on the actual ride. It’s amazing. 10/10 would recommend. I also got GROOT BREAD before the line was 6 miles long so that was exciting for me because every other time I’ve gone, the bread was sold out or I was too lazy to wait in the long line. I love Groot and I love bread. So this was a good combination.

2017-06-05 09.45.20 1.jpg
My dad, the Imagineer………..

It was an awesome day. I love my family so much. My dad and I only bickered a little bit so we’re getting better at this whole family thing. It’s hard when you’re both the same person and argue about everything, ha! But he’s pretty great and I owe everything I have to him. The day was awesome and I am always thankful for what my dad has done for our family and for what Disney has done for literally everyone. Disney knows how to put on an amazing show and they never cease to amaze.

June 6, 2016: Disney College Program’s LA Day

2017-06-07 08.40.26 1.jpg
All my favorite people……….I see you, Branden & Phil.

So the Disney College Program puts on super cool events from time to time and yesterday, we were able to take a field trip (ha!) out to Los Angeles. I love being a tourist in my own city because I never like going anywhere because traffic is disgusting and trying to look for parking is even more disgusting. I refuse. But they rented a bus for us and took us to a lot of cool spots so that was exciting. We started off the day at the Griffith Observatory which probably would have been better if the fog/smog wasn’t so heavy but it was still really fun taking photos and just enjoying the day off with friends.

2017-06-06 03.53.17 1.jpg
Who needs a backdrop when we’re the view, am I right!?! HA. 
2017-06-07 10.46.52 1.jpg
LA is so beautiful, huh! 

I think we probably could have Photoshopped ourselves onto a backdrop of LA and that would have looked more like we went to LA than the actual photos of us in LA. But anyway, it was fun and we stayed there for a little while. After that, we went to Hollywood to do a tour of the El Capitan Theater. It was cool learning about the theater and seeing all of the decorations for Disney’s new Pirates of the Caribbean film. I’ve never seen a film in that theater before but it was gorgeous and it was so cool learning about the theater’s history and learning about all the special events they put on for Disney film premieres!

After that, we went to the Farmer’s Market/The Grove and had lunch. That was my first time ever visiting the Farmer’s Market there and it was so cute. I had empanadas and they were yummy. I was happy. After that, we went to the lights at LACMA and of course, that turned into a photoshoot.

The bus ride home probably took like an hour and a half but we watched Hercules so that was fun. It was a really good day, overall. It’s so refreshing spending time with people who are fun and carefree and positive. It makes for a really fun day. The night was spent at Trader Sam’s followed by watching Wonder Woman for the third time (Girl power. Gal Gadot. Chris Pine. Need I say more?). It was a pretty good day and I am so thankful for that. For anyone who knows me, most of my days are spent worrying…mostly about the future and work, etc. But this was one of the few days where I didn’t feel worried at all. Here’s to hoping for so many more carefree days like this.

2017-06-06 11.53.03 2.jpg
Ricky about to slide into your girl’s DMs. 
Leave a Reply

